Wildfires in California have been spreading for almost a week now, and the high winds have only been making it worse, putting California in critical condition.

According to a report on the 16th, the fire in Northern California caused 63 deaths and 631 people are still missing. A wildfire in Southern California spread into the wealthy areas of Los Angeles such as Malibu and Calabasas, which are known to be home to many Hollywood and NBA stars.

“Just this week, Kim Kardashian and Kanye West’s $60 million home in Hidden Hills, California was saved from the Woolsey fire by a private firefighting force.” Click here to read more about the news.

In a city like Malibu, this kind of policy could range from $2,500 to $8,000 a year depending on many various factors including construction, contents of the home, and many more. These kinds of policies are typically only offered to homes that are worth more than $2 million.

KCAL Insurance represents many A-rated home insurance carriers and is one of the only insurance broker that represents luxury home insurance and high net worth insurance. Contact KCAL to get customized protection for your home today!

Santa Ana Wildfire

October marks the start of fall in Southern California! But this also means wildfire season… with high temperatures and dry weather, wildfires becomes more likely and the probability of a fire increases, creating danger in the area.

In September 2015, two wildfires in Northern California caused four deaths, nearly 2000 buildings were burned, and thousands of residents were forced to evacuate their homes.  Insurance claims came out to almost $1 billion!! In October 2007, a wildfire in San Diego, also known as the second largest wildfire in the history of California, resulted in insurance claims of up to about $1.8 billion! According to the American Insurance Institute, statistics show that out of the top 10 fires that resulted in the highest amount of insurance claims, 7 of them occurred in California.

Nice house, nice location! Who would’ve expected there to be so many issues?

Many Chinese individuals enjoy the nice ocean view so many like to buy homes by the mountains. What they might forget to consider is that once they have successfully purchased the house, they realize that they can’t afford to buy the home insurance for their home because it’s too expensive.

Wildfires make the surrounding area dry and flammable, making it even more likely for a fire to start. In many high risk areas, especially where wildfires are likely to occur, many insurance companies don’t want to cover those areas. If you can’t find an insurance company that is willing to insure, you can purchase a special fire insurance plan. If you’d like more details, please feel free to contact our auto and home department for expert advice.  

Fire Alarm 101

Insurance companies typically cover damages caused by the fire based on if the fire department arrived to the scene, how far or close the forest fire was, the conditions of the house, including the quality and conditions of the roof, if smoke detectors are present and identified, if sprinkler systems are installed, etc. These all factor in to determine how good of a condition the house is in and how safe the house is in a situation of catastrophe. Home insurance premiums are very similar to fire insurance premiums.

In the United States, there are usually two types of fire alarm systems—one is a smoke detector that sounds alerts when smoke or fire is detected. Typically, a beeping noise will go off. The other is a kind of fire alarm in which if smoke or fire is detected, the alarm is linked to the fire department which alerts the fire department, allowing them to arrive to the scene of the accident.

Houses nowadays are usually built with smoke detectors and sprinklers.  Once the smoke detector detects smoke, water will automatically spray out of the sprinkler.

Many families don’t realize that when they are cooking, the oil they use might accidentally trigger and set off the alarm, causing the smoke detector to go off. They get frustrated and want to remove and take out the alarm. However, this is very unsafe. According to the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), smoke detectors can reduce the probability of deaths by fire by at least half. Two thirds of fatal fire cases are due to absence of smoke alarms.

If the smoke detector goes off and you smell the smoke at the same time, you need to evacuate immediately. With wildfire season, it’s important to pay attention to the news and familiarize yourself with evacuation methods and strategies.

Applying for claims to remodel the home? Is the insurance company guaranteed to cover?

Some individuals are applying for fire insurance claims and find out after that they are compensated for far less than the loss amount. The reason is that with the increase in labor costs, material costs, and the value of the housing market, the value of rebuilding the house becomes much higher as well.

After applying for a claim, the insurance company will review the expenses required to rebuild the house and the owner can make the decision based on the insurance company’s approved amount. While the house is under construction, it is suggested to keep in contact with the insurance company in case the project budget exceeds the amount of the insurance claim. You should contact the insurance company first and check whether the exceeded amount can be claimed or not.

When your house is under construction, you should keep a record of all your living expenses because your homeowner’s policy includes Loss of Use. Loss of Use covers any additional living expense which means any necessary expense that exceeds what you usually spend.

You’ve worked hard to create the home you are living in, so you want to make sure you have adequate protection against potential risks in the future, especially in high risk areas. Regardless, it’s important to choose the right home insurance policy.

California’s home insurance market is very competitive, so if you feel that your home insurance premiums are too high, feel free to contact us! Our certified insurance agents will provide you with other options that best meets your needs. At KCAL Insurance Agency, our services are free and we offer the most comprehensive protection at the best price!

wild-fire-home-insurance加州山火蔓延已近一周,風助火力,南北加多個山火區域火勢依舊危急。

據16日最新報導,北加州Camp Fire死亡人數已達63人,631人失蹤,恐怕死亡人數未來幾天還將不幸上升。

這次南加州山火爆蔓延進了洛杉磯有名的豪宅富人區,也就是馬里布海灘、卡拉巴撒市一帶,很多好萊塢明星、NBA球星都在這裡置有豪宅。

Kardashian与Kanye West在該區Hidden Hills就有一套價值6000萬美金的豪宅。很多類似的豪宅在這次山火中倖免,都是因爲豪宅購買的房屋保險公司,第一時間派去了私人救火隊!(點此觀看新聞) 

據華興房屋保險專家説,這種豪宅房屋保險,在馬里布一帶非常常見。這種豪華保險,一年保費$2,500到$8,000,甚至更高都有見過。一般價值200萬美金以上的房子,都可能獲得私人救火隊的保護。

相比我們普通家庭一年五、六百的房屋保險保費,豪宅保險提供的配套保單服務,很多都是想都想不到啊!

華興保險代理多家A+房屋保險公司,更是唯一幾家代理豪宅保險和高淨值人群保險的大型保險經紀之一 ,馬上聯絡華興保險,獲得專屬於您的高級保障。

聖塔安娜(Santa Ana)野火焚風

南加州每年秋季十月開始,便進入了聖塔安娜(Santa Ana)野火焚風季,極爲高溫乾燥氣流,倍增山火、火災的機率和危險程度。

2015年9月北加兩場山火造成4人死亡,近2000座建築物被燒毀,數千居民被迫逃離家園,保險理賠近10億美元。2007年10月,加州聖叠戈野火,也是加州歷史上第二大野火,保險理賠18億美元。美國保險學會統計,美國賠償最高的10場的山火,7場都在加州。

依山好房 沒有料到的頭痛

華人喜歡買依山靠海的房子,但是房子買了,卻發現買不到房屋保險或者保險費用非常貴。

山火期間,常常有火星飄到幾里外去,遇到附近山邊乾燥易燃物,很容易引發火災。所以在很多山火高危區,保險公司甚至不願意承保。不過如果實在找不到願意承保的保險公司,最後也可以選擇政府提供的特殊火險計劃,詳情可以致電華興保險汽車房屋險專家諮詢

煙霧警鈴 學問大

房子與救火水源、消防局、灌木叢、森林的距離,屋況,尤其是屋頂的建築材料,房間內的煙霧報警器、灑水系統,都包含在保險公司判定火災危險指數的系統内,也和房屋保險保費密切相關。

在美國,通常有兩種消防警報系統,一種是用於室內的煙霧報警器,即當發生事故的時候,這種警鈴會在室內發出“嗶嗶嗶”的報警聲;另一種是付費的警鈴,即發生火災的時候,警鈴會聯系到附近的消防部門,並且很快會有消防車開到事故現場來查看究竟。

現在比較新的房子,政府都會規定屋主安裝煙霧報警器和灑水器,一旦煙霧報警器檢測到有煙霧時,安裝在屋頂的灑水器就會自動噴水。

很多華人朋友對火災不以為意,而且我們在家隨便炒個小菜,油煙一不小心就會觸發警報,往往就想要把警鈴拆掉。其實這樣是非常不安全的!據美國國家防火協會(NFPA)統計,有效的煙霧報警器可以將火災死亡率降低一半。而且,2/3的火災致死案例都是因為沒有煙霧報警器引起的。

如果煙霧警報器響起來,還能聞到煙味,一定要趕快撤離!如果是焚風季山火,擴散速度更是驚人,加州政府一般都反映非常迅速,組織危險區民衆疏散撤離。這種情況更要密切關注新聞和指示,抓緊撤離。

申請理賠 重建家園 保額足不足?

有些居民在申請火險理賠時才發現,可以獲得的賠償遠遠不及損失的金額。

原因是人工費用、材料費用都在漲,房屋的市場價值也不斷成長,而房屋保險保單中,房屋的重建價值,最直接的體現就是——保額,卻未適時跟著調整。

申請理賠之後,保險公司會先派員審核出重建房屋所需的費用,屋主再根據保險公司審核通過的金額來進行維修。在房屋重建期間,屋主應該和保險公司保持良好的溝通,尤其是遇上工程預算超出保險理賠金額的情形時,屋主可千萬別急著動工,應該先跟保險公司聯絡,讓保險公司評估超出的金額是否可以得到理賠。

在房屋重建的期間,擁有房屋保險的受災戶也應該好好記錄自己所有的生活花費,因為房屋保險的保障中,還包括了「臨時安住費用」(Loss of Use),也就是說,如果屋主因為火災造成額外的生活花費,是可以申請理賠的。

辛苦打拼建立的家園,你需要足夠的保障應對未知的風險,尤其是依山傍海的房產,辦理房屋保險更要多花心思、考慮周詳。

加州的房屋保險市場競爭很大,民眾如果覺得自己的房屋保險費用太高或被拒保,可以透過專業保險經紀的協助,多向幾間保險公司詢價。

華興保險代理多家A+房屋保險公司,更是唯一幾家代理豪宅保險和高淨值人群保險的大型保險經紀之一 ,馬上聯絡華興保險,獲得專屬於您的高級保障。